Hello guys, I’m so sorry I haven’t been so active on my blog recently it’s just that life and things got in the way. Anyway today I am here to talk about a pretty serious subject this being the problems that are surrounding the book Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth. I wrote this blog post after being on booktube for an hour watching videos about Carve the Mark and about the problems it posed. I was later lead to Veronica Roth’s tumblr blog post explaining all of her thought process behind creating and writing this book. I think that most people that are asking for an apology are being a bit irrational, but hear me out although she did address in the post that the religion and racism were things she had made taking bits and pieces of other cultures she had learned about. Not appropriating them but just using those traits to make a new fictional culture. I do not agree with the whole scarification. She herself admits she should have been more careful while writing about the subject and although I believe this is true. I do not believe people should be bullying other people or the author herself. If we are this critical with people’s mistakes then how do we expect to make the world a better place. The way that the book deals with scarification does not make me want to pick this book up so I believe it is best left unread by me at least. This post was not in any way meant to be hurtful or judgmental of the authors and these were just my personal thoughts on the book Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth.

